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If you do not already have a photo ID, you 
can get a voting-only ID that has a photo, at 
the Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV).  
 
This ID uses the same DMV form as a 
driver’s license:  

http://www.nh.gov/safety/divisions/dmv/ 

forms/documents/dsmv450.pdf 
 

You will need to present the DMV with 
documentation to prove your identity and 
your New Hampshire residency. 
 

 
The DMV website provides a list of  
documents that can be used to prove identity 
(birth certificate, passport) and 
residency (utility bills, a lease  
agreement, or a payroll check with your  
address).  
 
The fee for a non-driver photo 
ID is $10.00; you may obtain a voucher to 
cover this fee from your town or city clerk or 
from the Secretary of State. 
 
 

For more information about the DMV’s  
non-driver 
identification go to: http://www.nh.gov/

safety/divisions/ 

dmv/driver-licensing/non-driver-

identification/index.htm 

HOW DO I GET A PHOTO 

IDENTIFICATION CARD 

For more information about your  
voting rights 

 http://www. 

drcnh.org/Issue%20Areas/Voting.htm. 
 
If you have any problems  
accessing the polls on Election Day,  
call the Disabilities Rights Center toll free at 
1-800-834-1721. 
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HOW DO I GET A FREE VOTER ID?

If you do not have an approved photo ID, you can get a free photo ID for voting. To get a free voter ID, start at your Town Clerk's office. The clerk will have you sign an affidavit that you do not have a valid photo ID, verify that you are on the voter checklist, and give you a voucher. Take the voucher to any Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) office and get your free voter ID. 

IMPORTANT: A voter ID is NOT THE SAME as a non-driver's ID. The free voter ID is for voting purposes only.


HOW DO I GET A “NON-DRIVER PHOTO ID”?

A non-driver ID is an official photo ID issued by the NH Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV). There is a $10 fee for a non-driver ID, and you must complete the same paperwork and show the same documentation of identity and residency that you would for a driver's license. You can apply for a non-driver's ID at any Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) Office. A non-driver ID is valid for voting purposes, and also can be used as an alternative to a driver's license for other purposes where a government-issued ID is required.

For more information about the DMV's non-driver identification go to: http://www.nh.gov/safety/divisions/dmv/driver-licensing/non-driver-identification/index.htm  





State of New Hampshire Voter ID Law 

How does this law change the way I vote? 

You will be asked for a photo ID at the polls.  
You can still vote if you do not have one 

According to the NH Secretary of State: 

 
 For any election before Sept. 1, 2013, you will be asked to provide one of the following:  

• Driver’s license issued by any state (even if expired);  

• ID card issued by NH DMV (Division of Motor Vehicles);  

• U.S. Armed Services ID card;  

• U.S. Passport (even if expired);  

• Valid photo ID card issued by either the federal government or a state, county or  

• municipal government;  

• Valid student ID card  

• Other photo ID deemed legitimate by the supervisors of the checklist, the moderator, or the clerk; or  

• Verification of identity by a supervisor of the checklist, the moderator or the clerk.  

What if I do not have an approved Photo ID? YOU CAN STILL VOTE! 
 Before November 1, 2012, any voter who does not present an approved photo ID will be informed of the new law and permitted to vote.  
 
Between November 1, 2012 and September 1, 2013, any voter who does not present an approved photo ID will be permitted to vote after  
executing a “challenged voter affidavit.”  
A voter who does not have an approved photo ID may obtain a free photo ID for voting purposes only by presenting a voucher from their 
town/city clerk or the Secretary of State to any NH DMV office that issues identification.  
 
 After November 1, 2012, if you filled out a “challenged voter affidavit” in order to vote on Election Day, you will receive a verification  
letter from the Secretary of State, requesting confirmation that you voted in the election. If you do not respond in writing to the Secretary  
of State within 90 days of the date it was mailed, the Attorney General will conduct an investigation to determine whether fraudulent  
voting occurred.  




